Who are you Abiding with?

According to the Strong’s dictionary, to abide means to stay with or remain, to continue to be, not to perish, to last, endure.  This begs the question… with whom are you abiding your time?

If you are like most people, you have a job.  Like it or not we all must eat, and your family has this weird fetish of living indoors rather than out.  So, you continue to abide with your co-workers during the work day.  Hopefully, there are some that you enjoy working with.

You also abide with your spouse.  No matter what, you still abide with your chosen one for life.  Remember you love your spouse.

That being said, who is it that you abide with on a daily basis that truly loves you and truly wants to abide with you?  If you have ever taken the time to read the Bible you may have ran across this passage from John 15 1-17

I am the true vine, and My Father is the vine dresser.   2 “Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit, He takes away; and every [branch] that bears fruit, He prunes it, that it may bear more fruit.  3 “You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken to you.  4 “Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, so neither [can] you, unless you abide in Me.   5 “I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me, and I in him, he bears much fruit; for apart from Me you can do nothing.   6 “If anyone does not abide in Me, he is thrown away as a branch, and dries up; and they gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned.   7 “If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it shall be done for you.   8 “By this is My Father glorified, that you bear much fruit, and [so] prove to be My disciples.   9 “Just as the Father has loved Me, I have also loved you; abide in My love.   10 “If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love; just as I have kept My Father’s commandments, and abide in His love.   11 “These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may be in you, and [that] your joy may be made full.   12 “This is My commandment, that you love one another, just as I have loved you.   13 “Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.   14 “You are My friends, if you do what I command you. 15 “No longer do I call you slaves, for the slave does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I have heard from My Father I have made known to you.   16 “You did not choose Me, but I chose you, and appointed you, that you should go and bear fruit, and [that] your fruit should remain, that whatever you ask of the Father in My name, He may give to you.   17 “This I command you, that you love one another.

As you can see, this is an intimate kind of abiding.  This kind is to continue to be, not to perish; to last, to endure.  Just as your marriage is to last and endure, Jesus wants to endure with you.  He wants to abide with us on a daily basis.  He wants to graft you into His life and I can not think of anything better; or Anyone better to abide with.  Can you?

What are your thoughts on this?

About NetworkingMentor

For the past several years I have been in search of the perfect vacation. I have traveled a bit with the military, but that is not exactly what I call a vacation. My wife and I have been together for more than 3 decades and enjoy traveling and meeting new people in their environments. This allows us to expand our circle of friends. Question is, where do we go next?
This entry was posted in My Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments Please

